Submit?

Why do we make the simple difficult? –  Rebellion or Obedience

Every step my husband and I take leads us to the cross for guidance.  Are we taking this job, or waiting, moving or staying? How are we raising are children?  All acts of submission are easy, until they are not.  What happens when the next step needs to be made, and the answer you have from God doesn’t make sense?  We make decisions more difficult than they are.  Fretting over the what-if’s.  The only what if that really matters is, What if we don’t obey? What are the consequences?  If we choose our own “logical” option we also choose the ugly, death-infused reality of rebellion.

file5091250746944

Rebellion or Obedience

            When we think of rebellion we think of a rebel.  When we hear the word rebel our mind conjures up images of shady looking fellows one step away from landing in jail.  We don’t acknowledge God and look at the rebellion in our own hearts.  No one would willingly throw themselves or their beloved family members into the gates of hell, to be tormented by the natural consequences of our sin.  Yet when we choose to be “in charge” that is what we do.

pic of family praying

Ephesians 5:22, Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do the Lord.  This is a rather simple command, until it isn’t.  My husband struggles with worries of failures hindering his obedient walk.  Tugging him toward self-reliance instead of obedience.  I struggle with submission to my husband, not on a base-level anymore as I did in my younger years but during times when I question if he has pressed in deep enough to Christ to receive an answer even if it does not align with his own self-will. I question John, because I know how hard it is to press into the Lord and receive what you don’t want to hear, but need to.  I fail in my willingness to submit, but I must trust because John has been endowed by God with the higher calling of being the spiritual leader of our home.  If God commands John to be the spiritual leader then he will grant John what he needs to lead in each and every situation, if he asks. All we need to do is ask for what we need, and then submit to the work that is inherent in the receiving. “Keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for.  Keep on seeking, and you will find.  Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you.”  Matthew 7:7 NLT

These are the questions or factors I have found to intensify the angst in actively choosing obedience in my own walk-

  • Do I have to wait for the solution?
  • Does God’s answer line up with my plans for my life?
  • Does God’s answer make loved one’s question our sanity?
  • When God doesn’t seem to be listening to my heart.
  • When I have to follow my husband into a decision I know is wrong for the family.
  • When the answers of God seems contradictory to the promises God gave us.

 

What are some factors or questions that you have let hinder your walking in obedience? Comment below,  I would love to pray with you.

 

One thought on “Submit?

Leave a Reply

