The movement of God

God moves in the time between the strike of a question mark and the capitalization of the next sentence in the story of our lives.
When I ask God a question, He often moves in ways far beyond my understanding. Okay so when I say often, I mean always.
It is 2 ½ years ago today when I asked the Lord for someone to disciple me. I was very specific in my request to the Lord. I needed someone who was farther along in their journey with Christ in the gifting of intercession or prayer. When asking God for help we may think that we know what we need or even more laughable we may think we know what we will get. He will always give exceedingly, abundantly more than we can ask or think.

file000443155139
My petition for a disciple was no exception to the rule of God’s faithfulness and overabundance of love. It was an awkward moment calling a woman that lives across the country, whom I had never met to ask her to be my disciple. She was strangely unfazed by this unexpected phone call. We talked about where I was at in my walk and she in her walk and then we prayed. We have never stopped praying sometimes we pray daily, hourly or sometimes not for weeks.
What we never expected was that two hearts in agreement in prayer under the will of God can transform not only the heart of the person being discipled but the disciple herself. The ripple cast out by our faithful prayers, reached places we would never have dared fathom. There are times during these 2 ½ years where she held me up but just as many times when I held her up. I am eternally grateful that our Great and Glorious God hears not only the words of our prayers but our hearts as well. He knew that I needed a disciple, and whom to give me and he knew that my disciple needed me, our union has been a beautiful blessing in my life. Never think that the quest to come alongside a fellow established our budding Christian is not worth the time or effort.
What Christ grants you when you are in obedience to His Word cannot be measured. Matthew 28:18-20 requires obedience, it is a call to discipleship. But listen to the overflowing God at the end of this scripture, His promises are exceedingly above what we could ask or think. “And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age. ”
Pray: Lord Jesus help me to not be afraid to ask for someone to be brought into my life to disciple or to be under discipleship with. You are faithful to give us what we need and not what we ask for and for that we are eternally grateful. Hear our hearts Lord even when our words fall short. Provide for us in only the way the great Jehovah-Jireh can. We praise you God. Thank you, Jesus Amen.

Leave a Reply

