Tragedy Struck, Joy Found

picofjoy   Tragedy Struck, Joy Found

Be still.  How many times have I been told this in various ways throughout my life? If I’m honest more times that I care to admit.

To be shown stillness by human example is humbling. I was at Write to Publish, a writer’s conference, when a living model of stillness stood before me.  Joy Ware Miller, radiated peace.  As I listened to her presentation on Logos, her voice flowed with light and life and her inner peace soothed me. Where did this light and life come from?  She navigated the computer program with ease and confidence, but this was certainly not the source of her gentle-strength.  I was intrigued.

Jesus reveals himself in our lives if we seek this knowledge.  Depth of strength and peace evident to others comes only from Jesus, often through enabling us to triumph over tragedy.  I sat down next to Joy, calmed by her presence and curious about her story.  We were at the Write to Publish conference, in the hallway designed as passageways from one location to another.  In this passageway, the Lord taught me a wealth of information beyond what could have been imparted in the classroom. But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it (Matt 7:14 New Living Translation).  Joy, submitted to Christ’s authorship of her life, and the results are breathtaking to behold.  As I absorbed her story, God transformed my inner being, deepening my understanding of Christ’s mentorship. That one choice to stay, and be still, listening to another woman describe her movement through life, changed my path. As she described my worst nightmare as a mother, she moved from pain to understanding in what I perceived as light speed. Her only boy left the safety of their home and never returned. She walked through this pain to emerge triumphant and empowered, to deliver Christ’s message.  I will be eternally grateful that I found that path, in the hallway of the http://www.writetopublish.com  conference. Joy Miller offers Christ’s transforming message in her book, There’s A Party in The Pit…. And You’re Invited! She can be reached at www.iJoyinspirations.com.  Joy Ware Miller is an author, speaker and radio host.  I will be reviewing her book in a later blog entry.  Parents on Call, is her ministry to reach parents who have lost a child.

devos joysbook parentsoncall

Pray: Lord Jesus, thank you for slowing me down and giving me divine connections, people who help us to see you.  Jesus, I need your presence in my life, and I ask that you continue to bless me with your mentoring hand.  I surrender myself to your transforming path for me.  You know best, and I will humble myself before you in order to receive your wisdom.  Thank you, Jesus, for your gentle guidance.  I love and need you. Amen.

4 thoughts on “Tragedy Struck, Joy Found

  1. Dear Heather,
    Thank you for taking the tender time to listen and allow me to share my story! Thank you for writing in such a way others feel God’s strength! You are an amazing Woman of God! I am so blessed to have the opportunity to call you FRIEND! ❤ Blessings – Joy

    • Joy, listening to your story strengthened my heart and inspired my spirit. Thanks for being able to learn so readily from The Lord. And thank you for sharing what you have learned so willingly.

  2. Joy: I remember your son’s passing and how difficult it was for your family. I also remember your assurance that he was with the Lord and that you would see him again. For myself I can’t imagine losing one of my boys but if that should ever happen you’ve shown me where to turn.

Leave a Reply

