What’s in your back pack? Did you forget something?

What’s in your backpack? 

Do you have a strong suspicion that  its junk you don’t need and have been carrying around forever for absolutely no good reason?  If so you and I may have the same backpack or a similar one.  

Why do we always tell our children, “That’s okay you tried your best.” “It’s the process that counts.”  “As long as you keep trying and do your best, you are a winner.”  We are trying to teach them not to be hard on themselves and to get back up and keep trying.  In short we are trying to teach perseverance through pain.  Perseverance no doubt is a trait needed in this world.

But you can’t teach it through talking it is only taught through doing.

Confessions of a mother with a heavy back pack:

As I am desperately trying to teach perseverance instead I am teaching self deprecation.  I yell at myself when I forget the smallest things, lose stuff or just plain blow it.  I begin to tell myself, ” Look you did it again.  So and so must be thinking ….. about me”  What a horrific time waster and energy sucker.  As mothers that’s the last thing we need is someone tearing us down stealing our feeble energy supply and wasting our time.  And yet that is what we do to ourselves.  It’s time we take off our backpacks, see whats packed in there and remove the junk.  God had and has no intention of weighing us down He came to lift us up.   

John 16:33 New International Version (NIV) “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

Pray: Dear Lord you have clearly stated that life will not be easy multiple times in the bible. I confess now that I myself have made it more difficult with the junk I refuse to lay down.  Lord Jesus I willingly lay down the heavy junk that I have been carrying.  I lay it down so that I may persevere under Your will.  Help me to meditate on, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable, excellent or praiseworthy.  Lord God help me to think about such things, as I load them daily into my now empty backpack.  Let there be an infilling of You as I release my heavy burdens.  Lord God I need Your presence. Thank you, Amen.

It is my prayer for you and me that every time we ask our children, “What’s in your backpack? Did you forget…..?”  That we ask ourselves whats in our backpacks? heavy or light, good or evil, helpful or destructive? God is on your side.  Let’s do some fall cleaning!

Leave a Reply

