Why did I wait for so long, without asking?

I’ve been tortured with anxiety, brought on by my four month old. She is refusing a bottle, I’ve been trying for about two months now, with little progress. Granted she used to vomit when either a nipple or pacifier was introduced and she no longer does that, so some progress. Our greatest success has been 1/2 an ounce that may or may not have been swallowed. With my return to work date quickly approaching my anxiety has been on a steady rise. Instead of simply asking my future daycare provider what her experience level was, with children with eating issues, I just continued my out of control spiraling anxiety. Once I finally asked my daycare provider, her answers completely removed my worries. She had, had a child who had to be syringe and cup fed, she could certainly handle my stubborn daughter. Why had I waited for so long, without asking?

We do the same thing when we let out mind go wild with possible scenarios instead of asking for God’s input. We can be assured that the maker of the universe has the expertise to handle our problems. Stop holding on to your torturous scenarios and start holding onto God. Ask Jesus for His wisdom and blessings.

Pray: Lord Jesus my heart is troubled. I don’t know what my next step should be. My head spins with fear. Lord God direct my feet onto Your path, help me to know Your will. Give me Your peace that passes human understanding as I face life. I can confidently know that what I ask of God according to His will, He will hear and I will have what I ask of Him. Lord God I don’t know what I need, so I ask that You grant me with Your wisdom what I need. Your steadfast love gives me all the assurance I require, to be able to trust in Your decisions for my life. Thank you God for loving me, right where I’m at. Thank you God for continuing to do a good work within me. Love, your daughter.

1 John 5:13-15 (NIV)
I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God so that you may know that you have eternal life. This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. And if we know that he hears us-whatever we ask- we know that we have what we asked of him.

Leave a Reply

