Above all else protect the heart- Proverbs 4:23

I first posted this scripture on my wall 2 years ago but it’s meaning and implications for my life have only more recently been manifesting.   When I began to pray on this truth and asking God how He would like for it to play out in my life I began to see the full meaning.  My entire life began to be realigned to prioritize how I lived and treated people, to be most focused on their heart.  I began to see my children’s hearts as precious and fragile.  Their worth beyond compare, their hearts deserved protecting.  And in this world sometimes ferociously protected.  Every  stream of influence however benign looking, was scrutinized not only the media I was putting into my children but into myself.  I got rid of the TV and kept our DVD and VCR so that any movies or shows were approved by me.  I also did this to remove the distraction from my husband and I so that our marriage could be strengthened with the time we spend talking at night not viewing junk.

 I began to look at human interactions, and even conflict as not something to win or conquer. Instead I began to look at the intent of the persons heart behind the comments.  No matter how mean or snippy the comments were when I asked God to reveal the truth behind their words I began to see people for the vulnerable hearts that they are.  I began to pray for the person who made the careless remarks and not waste time on ranting about their behavior. (depending on the severity of the situation I needed to pray sometimes 50x that day to keep my heart safe)  My personal prayer is; Lord Jesus reveal to me, Why did their comment hurt so bad, Why was my heart so vulnerable to their words and what does this person need me to pray for them?  The results were remarkable.  I have always been surprised by God’s answers.  I have never been disappointed by how quickly my own heart healed from any careless humans remarks.  In that healing my caring Savior helped me to see my life and all its little difficulties from an eternal perspective.  I began to see my loving response to that person as a win for God’s team. When I stop and remember to pray, I am always rewarded by new insight into myself and the God I serve.  Every conflict with God’s help has the potential to strengthen my heart.

Protect your heart and the heart of the people you love, no matter how unpopular that is to the rest of the world. 

Leave a Reply

